Notifications
Clear all

What age did you know you were transgender?

114 Posts
98 Users
0 Reactions
(@lochness)
Active Member     Australia, Avon, Sydney

I was older then 13 and a 1/2 months

(@Anonymous)

I was exactly 5 years old when I started to feel.... different. I know exactly when it started and why now that I'm older and can look back. But it wasn't until I was much older that I realized what it was that was making me feel different. If I'm going to be honest, I never had a sudden realization, it all happened sort of gradually and I'm still learning about it.

(@cloe-anne-webb)
Honorable Member     United States of America, Virginia, Fairfax

In a family of 5 kids at the time there was so much going on it was hard to even be myself, much less comprehend what was going on, but I do know at age 9 I did my first public crossdressing in my sisters jeans to school several times.Β  I can't say for certain I immediately associated it with feeling I was a girl and the shame I had received actually put me into a self repression that lasted until my early 20's and stunted my exploration to just enjoying underdressing.

(@Anonymous)

It was before school when I had my first trigger events for crossdressing, but it was starting primary school that really set my brain whirling (age 4 and three quarters). Girls wore different uniform to boys (no stupid tie for a start). Girls were called by their first name, boys by their surname. It was always girls first, boys second. From that it could have just been jealousy that made me want to change to being a girl, but I also preferred to be with the girls at break time. None of that rushing around, kicking footballs, yelling and shooting one another type of play appealed. I preferred the chatting, skipping and making daisy chains.

My childhood fantasy at that time: why couldn't those aliens kidnap me and turn me into a girl!

(@goldenglow)
Eminent Member     United States of America, Washington, Kirkland