Do you ever just want to stop thinking about your gender?

Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author

I’m in the early process of accepting my gender and planning a transition. I’ve found that it’s actually so overwhelming that it started making me so anxious and sick to my stomach. I’ve distracted myself for so long from addressing my real feelings, and I’m finding that I’m retreating back to that with maladaptive daydreaming and focusing on other people more than myself. Anyone else experience this or am I alone?

Anonymous

Yes I do know what you mean. I’ve spend the longest time questioning my gender, but then more or less immediately dismissing it from my mind. I didn’t understand, still don’t fully. But like you I’ve dedicated myself to looking after the people I care about in my life and as rewarding as that is, I’m left feeling like I’m missing out.

I’m still new in this journey and by no means Claim to be an expert, but life’s to short to live miserably, life’s to short to live in the shadows everyday of your life. Although this journey is necessary it is scary, it is bit overwhelming at times of I think about it tooo much. I try to employ the ‘don’t think, just do’ approach. It helps to an extent, but I also try to be mindful of the impact that it’ll have. But thinking too much is a recipe for driving yourself nuts, lol.

“Don’t think, just do, and be you” *big pink hugs*

Amelia

<p style=”text-align: left;”>Hi Amelia,a beautiful reply to a difficult time in one’s life. Your words are exactly what I would have wanted to read,luv to you darlin from Maxine</p>

Thank you for this thoughtful response, Amelia. This is a hard journey for all of us, but you’re totally right. Life is too short to only think and not act! Sending hugs to you as well. 😊

DeeAnn Hopings
      AMBASSADOR

Liam: