I know I am trans, but am I transgender?

• This topic has 19 replies, 12 voices, and was last updated 4 years ago by Anonymous.
Viewing 13 reply threads
  • Author

So I am extremely new to this in someways, while at the same time, it feels very old and familiar. I know I’m Trans. I know I’m more than someone who just enjoys dressing up and pretending to be a woman. that realization hit a while back. and it hit hard. I’ve been thinking a lot about transitioning and have taken small steps toward that. but I want to take bigger steps. like HRT, but, I guess what I wonder is, I know I am trans, but am I transgender? or am I something else….

two people have told me they think I’m just gender fluid, but if I’m only gender fluid, why do I wish I was a woman all the time? I don’t understand. maybe you all can help?

Olivia, you are you. It’s easy to fall into the trap of choosing a label that seems to fit then trying to mold yourself to all that goes with it. So best thing you can do is become familiar with the definitions snd see if anything fits you, not the other way around. Another issue is that people can change as they discover more about themselves so don’t get locked in either. If you find yourselves struggling with any of it you may want to seek a gender counselor to help you sort it our for yourself. So here’s a good link for current terminology and definitions from the Human Rights Campaign. https://www.hrc.org/resources/glossary-of-terms?utm_source=GS&utm_medium=AD&utm_campaign=BPI-HRC-Grant&utm_content=276004739478&utm_term=gender%20identity%20definition&gclid=CjwKCAjwtajrBRBVEiwA8w2Q8CMHJJQzrcC7OCvfFeRhrxEV0sO3vwxaf9a1Xg0xFAKoeSN6vdLI8hoCaPQQAvD_BwE

I guess I’m looking for terminology, cloe because at this point, I feel like I lack definition.

Anonymous