I recently dicovered I’m trans, and my whole world fell apart

Tagged: 

Viewing 10 reply threads
  • Author

Hello everybody!

I’m fairly new to the transgender community. I knew that I wanted to be a girl since I was 12, but I only truly realized I’m trans at the age of 21, mainly due to beibg part of a very, very homophobic household. I kust want to introduce myself in this post, so I can finally feel like I belong somewhere. My name is Liza, I was born under the name “Tim”, and I’m currently 22 years old. I hope to get some tips and tricks on how to find happiness without being able to come out, due to my aforementioned insanely homophobic family.

Life sucks,

Liza

Brielle
      SILVER

Hi Liza, I can’t tell you much in terms of my example. I was denying my true self for over 60 years until last July when I finally revealed what my hidden feelings were to my wife.

I know when I was your age, I couldn’t have come out to anyone, since back in the 70s it just wasn’t accepted at all. Plus, my parents were so conservative they didn’t like Billy Graham because he had celebrities on his crusade stages. So I do get where you are coming from. All I know is I was miserable for a lot of the last 45-50 years because I reached adulthood, as you have, and saw a life ahead that I didn’t want but felt powerless to change.

Don’t get me wrong, I love my wife and my daughter and I’ve built a good life with them. But I’ve only been half alive and I wish I could have been fully present this whole time. I’m probably not making you feel much better with this reply so far, but your family may understand the difference between same-sex relationships and transgender issues. Just because you want to transition doesn’t (necessarily – I don’t know your heart here) make you a “homosexual” – their term I expect, not mine.