Language: A Reminder…

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      DeeAnn Hopings
      AMBASSADOR

As we create postings and private messages, please keep this thought in mind:

Remember that we have members for whom English is not their first language. Therefore it is helpful to avoid slang, abbreviations, Internet shorthand and other language artifacts that may be unknown to others.

Thanks,

DeeAnn

Acronyms are particularly annoying DeeAnn…and ambiguous sometimes.
      LOL
      Laugh out loud/lots of love

Alex

DeeAnn Hopings
        AMBASSADOR

And imagine the confusion if English was not your first language! If we get confused, what are they to think? Sometimes we are our own worst enemy…

Alexis Wassermann
      MANAGING AMBASSADOR

Some it just drives me nut trying to figure out what some folks are trying to say , and I speak English !

Alexis

Emily Alt
      UNITY

I’m as guilty as anyone.  I text a lot and freely use abbreviated language.  I also work in tech, and freely use cryptic acronyms and jargon when communicating with peers.  Those habits tend to work their way into my forum posts.  It’s hard to break the habit.  Maybe I need a 12-Step program, LOL!  Oops, laughing out loud!

/EA

DeeAnn Hopings
        AMBASSADOR

Perhaps a 12-Word Program…

Emily Alt
          UNITY

That’s too Orwellian DeeAnn….

DeeAnn Hopings
            AMBASSADOR

Perhaps you need a visit to the Animal Farm. Then again, as one of my Taiwanese colleagues once told another of our co-workers:

”Maybe you think too much.”

Took a while for me to stop laughing after that.

It was one of those “DAMN” moments…

DeeAnn Hopings
            AMBASSADOR

You do understand hat I was just messing with you?

Emily Alt
            UNITY

Of course!  And I couldn’t resist poking back a bit!

Elli Snow
        SILVER