Teacher of a Transgender Student

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author

Hello,

I am a high school math teacher in a small rural district in upstate NY, and am cis male.   I am looking for advice/help as I am hoping to develop a professional development around providing a safe and welcoming classroom for transgender students.  I have 3 transgender students this year, and based on my life experiences have no idea what they are going through, but want to help support them, and help other teachers do the same.

If you’re willing to share, I’d love to hear from you about you’re experiences in high school, good or bad, particularly with interactions with teachers so I can help build an environment that emphasizes the positive and minimizes or eliminates the negative experiences.  What do you wish they had known, or done?  What did they do that hurt, or made you feel unwelcome or unsafe? I have been looking through the forum and learning quite a bit, but anything you are willing to provide, specifically in terms of school experience, would be great.

Lastly, if this post is out of line, or offensive, I’d like to know that too.  As I have said, my experiences are very limited, and I really just want to know more to help make my school a more welcoming space for everyone.

Michelle Lawson
      MANAGING AMBASSADOR