Reply To: Coming to a place of self-acceptance?

Anonymous

You have to hold your head up high, you have to come to a place of being honest with yourself.  You think you are “out”; your not out, you found a little micro-environments of acceptance and safety.  Within these special environments you are out and accepting of yourself.  You as I have spent years finding little niches of belonging.  You as well as I don’t dance the “Happy Girl” dance in a cowboy bar at Texas A&M. (I studied there for a while)

If you really spend some time inside yourself, re-feeling the joy of first cross-dressing, of feeling pretty, of special pleasure in the first time you shaved your legs; I could go on forever.  I first declared myself a girl when I was 4 years old; at that time my parents told me I had to stop acting like a girl because I was a boy.  I have fought that biological control of my gender & emotion ever since.  I have been cross-dressing for 60 years, and I NEVER thought that wasn’t my true self.  My knowing sincerely that I was really a girl has kept me alive for those 60 years.  A very few times I felt shame in my desires to be a woman; all because I allowed the “value structure” of intolerant bigots to momentarily penetrate me.

I believe one of the secrets of “coming to a place of self-acceptance” is to really work on your own personal “value structure”.  What really is important; what values are worth keeping, embracing, respecting.  I always knew I was really was a girl because of how I expressed love and emotion for just about everything, and that love and emotion came right out of me: the girl.

I have always been different than most people I hung around with.  34 year military veteran, starting with Viet Nam in 1971, retiring from the army in 2004 after Iraqy Freedom.  I lived in a man’s world, but I was always a girl in value structure & emotion.