Are you “Transgender” or “Woman” (or “Man”)?

If you have transitioned, or planning on transitioning, will you discard and hide your past identity? Or will you openly identify as transgender?

Coming to my reckoning of gender identity late in life, I've been coming out to friends and family, and probably on Facebook to close "Friends" soon. I think of some people I know who are transitioning, whether surgically or not. They have left the old identity behind them, including the identity of transgender. They are now a woman, or if FtM, man. There are advantages to each. At my age, I feel like I can also be a spokesperson and healer in our society (I'm a life coach and HR consultant). If I transitioned and left behind my trans designation, would I be as effective as an advocate? So the question in this poll is to ask YOU what your identity would be if you transition to being identified as one gender. Would you still identify as transgender? Or would that be an unspoken past?

You must be logged in to participate.
  • Erase my past
  • I admit my transgender designation
  • Reveal my transgender identity to a select few.
Viewing 17 reply threads
  • Author
    Replies
      Jace Wesley
      Participant

FREE